Home / Guides / Medicare and GLP-1s

Medicare’s $50 GLP-1 Bridge, explained.

Medicare GLP-1 coverage in 2026: who qualifies for the $50 Bridge, and what if you don’t

By the NexLife Medical Team · Medically reviewed by Adam Kennah, MD · Updated

Through December 31, 2027, Medicare’s GLP-1 Bridge offers Wegovy, Foundayo or the Zepbound KwikPen for $50 a month to Part D enrollees who qualify; compounded GLP-1s aren’t covered. People with Medicare can still pay NexLife themselves: compounded tirzepatide is $139 a month on the 12-month plan, or $169 month to month.

  • Covered: Wegovy pen or pill, Foundayo, the Zepbound KwikPen
  • BMI: 35, or 30 or 27 with listed conditions
  • Not counted: toward your deductible or $2,100 out-of-pocket cap
NexLifeNexLife and Medicare

With Medicare, you can still pay yourself

NexLife’s providers prescribe compounded medicines only, not Zepbound or Wegovy, and NexLife doesn’t bill Medicare or other insurance.

Real people answer 24/7. Physicians answer medical questions during clinical hours.

4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot, 407 reviewsLegitScript-certified

Compounded tirzepatide and semaglutide aren’t FDA-approved, and Medicare doesn’t cover them. With Medicare, you can still use NexLife and pay the monthly price yourself.

Medicare at a glance

Medicare GLP-1 coverage at a glance: what the Bridge covers, what it costs, who qualifies and how to get it, from Medicare.gov and CMS, checked November 1, 2026
QuestionAnswer
What’s covered?Wegovy (pen or pill), Foundayo and the Zepbound KwikPen, through Medicare’s GLP-1 Bridge
What does it cost?$50 a month, from July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027
Who qualifies?Part D enrollees with a BMI of at least 35, or 30 or 27 with listed conditions, when they started a GLP-1
How do you get it?Your prescriber requests prior authorization; a decision comes within 72 hours
What isn’t covered?Zepbound vials and single-dose pens, KwikPen needles, and compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide
Type 2 diabetes, moderate-to-severe sleep apnea or fatty liver?The Bridge isn’t for you, but your Part D plan may cover a GLP-1

From Medicare.gov and CMS, read November 1, 2026.

  1. Tell us about you About 3 minutes of health questions
  2. A licensed provider decides You’re prescribed only if it’s right for you
  3. Your partner pharmacy ships Usually within 1 to 2 business days, free

Key takeaways

  • Medicare’s GLP-1 coverage for weight loss is the Bridge: $50 a month through 2027, if you qualify (checked November 1, 2026).
  • Covered: Wegovy (pen or pill), Foundayo and the Zepbound KwikPen, not Zepbound vials or compounded drugs.
  • Who qualifies: Part D enrollees whose BMI was at least 35, or 30 or 27 with listed conditions, when starting a GLP-1.
  • Type 2 diabetes, moderate-to-severe sleep apnea or fatty liver disease? Your Part D plan may cover a GLP-1 instead.
  • You don’t apply yourself: your prescriber requests prior authorization, and a decision comes within 72 hours.
  • With Medicare, you can still pay yourself: compounded tirzepatide at NexLife, not FDA-approved, is $139 a month on the 12-month plan.

The Bridge

What is the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge?

A short-term CMS program that charges $50 a month for three brand-name GLP-1s: Wegovy (pen or pill), Foundayo and the Zepbound KwikPen. It runs from July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027. It’s for people with Part D who meet its BMI and health rules, and it sits outside their Part D plan.

“The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge is a short-term demonstration run by CMS that will provide eligible Medicare Part D beneficiaries with access to certain GLP-1 drugs between July 1, 2026, and December 31, 2027.”

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Medicare GLP-1 Bridge
  • $50a month, for a one-month supplyWhatever your income
  • 3.8 millionpeople with Part D met all its criteria in 2023KFF estimate
  • 72 hoursfor a decision once your prescriber appliesCMS
The details
Who runs itCMS, as a short-term demonstration that runs outside your Part D plan
DatesJuly 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027
Your cost$50 for a one-month supply (28 or 30 days, by drug), whatever your income
Who can use itPeople 18 or older with Medicare drug coverage (Part D) who meet its BMI and health criteria
ApprovalPrior authorization from your prescriber, good through December 31, 2027 unless you change GLP-1s

Which GLP-1s does the Bridge cover?

Wegovy (pen or pill) and Foundayo at every strength, including Wegovy HD 7.2 mg, and the Zepbound KwikPen, whose pen needles you buy separately. Foundayo was added on April 6, 2026. Zepbound vials, single-dose pens and compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide aren’t covered.

From Medicare.gov and CMS’s information for providers, read November 1, 2026. CMS says the list may change during the program.
MedicineUnder the Bridge
Wegovy pensemaglutide, weekly shotCovered at every strength, including Wegovy HD 7.2 mg
Wegovy pillsemaglutide, dailyCovered at every strength
Foundayoorforglipron, daily pillCovered at every strength (added April 6, 2026)
Zepbound KwikPentirzepatide, weekly; one pen holds 4 dosesCovered. Pen needles aren’t: you buy them separately
Zepbound vials or single-dose pensNot covered
Compounded tirzepatide or semaglutideNot covered

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

From Medicare.gov and CMS’s information for providers, read November 1, 2026. CMS says the list may change during the program.

Do you qualify?

Do you qualify for the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge?

You may, if you’re 18 or older with Part D. Your BMI must have been 35 or more when you started a GLP-1, or 30 or 27 or more with a listed condition (CMS, read November 1, 2026). Type 2 diabetes, moderate-to-severe sleep apnea, fatty liver disease or a GLP-1 your Part D plan already pays for rules you out.

The Bridge’s rules, in 5 questions

1. Do you have Medicare drug coverage (Part D)?

2. Does your Part D plan already pay for a GLP-1 for you?

3. Do you have type 2 diabetes, moderate-to-severe sleep apnea or fatty liver disease?

4. Your height, and your weight when you started a GLP-1 (or today, if you haven’t)

5. Any of these? Tap all that apply.

Answer the questions to see where you stand.

Built from Medicare.gov’s and CMS’s criteria, read November 1, 2026. Your prescriber’s prior authorization request decides.

The BMI rules

The Bridge’s criteria, from Medicare.gov and CMS, read November 1, 2026. You must be 18 or older. The BMI is the one you had when you started GLP-1 therapy, even if that was before July 2026 or before you joined Part D.
If your BMI wasYou also need one of these
35 or moreNothing more: BMI alone qualifies
30 or moreHeart failure with preserved ejection fraction, uncontrolled high blood pressure (above 140/90 despite two blood pressure medicines) or chronic kidney disease stage 3a or higher, or a condition in the next row
27 or morePrediabetes, a past heart attack or stroke, or peripheral artery disease with symptoms

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

The Bridge’s criteria, from Medicare.gov and CMS, read November 1, 2026. You must be 18 or older. The BMI is the one you had when you started GLP-1 therapy, even if that was before July 2026 or before you joined Part D.

Already on a GLP-1? What counts is your BMI when you started. CMS’s own example: someone who started at a BMI of 37 and is at 34 now still meets the BMI of 35 rule.

Who isn’t eligible for the Bridge?

Four groups can’t use it, CMS says. One is people whose Part D plan already pays for a GLP-1. Another is people with type 2 diabetes, moderate-to-severe sleep apnea or fatty liver disease. The other two have no standalone Medicare drug plan, or no Medicare drug coverage at all. Here’s each one, and what to do instead:

  • Your Part D plan already pays for a GLP-1 for you, for any reason. You keep getting it through your plan.
  • You have type 2 diabetes, moderate-to-severe sleep apnea or fatty liver disease (MASH). Your Part D plan may cover a GLP-1 instead.
  • Your only Medicare coverage is a private fee-for-service plan, a cost plan or PACE, without a standalone drug plan.
  • You have no Medicare drug coverage at all. You can join a drug plan only at certain times of the year.

How to apply

How do you apply, and how long does it take?

You don’t apply yourself: your prescriber and pharmacy do. The pharmacy asks your prescriber for prior authorization, typically within 24 to 72 hours, and the decision comes within 72 hours of the request, CMS says. Once approved, you pay $50 a month, and refills on the same drug need no new approval through December 31, 2027.

  1. Talk with your prescriber

    They check that a GLP-1 fits you and that you meet the criteria. They also certify that you’re following a diet and exercise plan. They don’t need to be enrolled in Medicare, but they can’t be on Medicare’s preclusion list.

  2. The prescription goes to your pharmacy

    The pharmacy may ask for your Medicare number, or the last 4 digits of your Social Security number. Then it sends the claim to the Bridge.

  3. The pharmacy asks for prior authorization

    It sends the request to your prescriber, typically within 24 to 72 hours. Your prescriber submits it online through CoverMyMeds or by fax.

  4. A decision within 72 hours

    It’s mailed to you and sent to your prescriber. If you’re approved, Medicare also sends you a letter.

  5. Pay $50 at the pharmacy

    Refills don’t need a new approval while you stay on the same drug, even if your dose changes. The approval lasts through December 31, 2027 unless you change GLP-1s.

Denied? The Bridge has no appeals process. Your prescriber can send the form again with corrected or new information. To ask about your eligibility or the status of a request, call 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227).

What $50 covers

What does the $50 cover, and what doesn’t it?

It covers a one-month supply of Wegovy, Foundayo or the Zepbound KwikPen for $50, whatever your income, with no deductible first. It doesn’t count toward your Part D deductible or the $2,100 out-of-pocket cap ($2,400 in 2027), Extra Help doesn’t lower it, and KwikPen needles aren’t covered.

It gets you

  • A one-month supply of Wegovy, Foundayo or the Zepbound KwikPen
  • The same $50 every month, whatever your income and whatever phase of Part D you’re in
  • No deductible to meet first: you pay $50 from the first fill
  • Refills and dose changes on the same drug, without a new approval

It doesn’t

  • Count toward your Part D deductible or the $2,100 out-of-pocket cap ($2,400 in 2027)
  • Get lower with Extra Help, Medicare’s program for people with limited income
  • Spread out through the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan
  • Cover pen needles for the KwikPen, or Zepbound vials and single-dose pens

Part D route

Does Medicare cover GLP-1s for diabetes, sleep apnea or fatty liver disease?

Then the Bridge isn’t for you, but your Part D plan can cover a GLP-1 for that use. The law bars Medicare from covering drugs used only for weight loss, but these approved uses are allowed. Plans can cover diabetes medicines such as Ozempic and Mounjaro, Zepbound for sleep apnea, and Wegovy for MASH or heart risk.

  • Type 2 diabetes

    GLP-1 diabetes medicines such as Ozempic and Mounjaro go through your Part D plan’s list of covered drugs.

  • Sleep apnea

    Zepbound is approved to treat moderate to severe obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity.

  • MASH

    The Wegovy shot is approved for MASH, a fatty liver disease, with moderate to advanced scarring.

  • Heart disease

    Wegovy is approved to lower the risk of heart attack, stroke and heart-related death in adults with heart disease and obesity or overweight.

Had a heart attack or stroke? You can still use the Bridge at a BMI of 27 if the prescription is for weight. If your prescriber writes Wegovy to lower your heart risk, it goes to your Part D plan instead, with your plan’s copay.

Not eligible?

Not eligible? What do GLP-1s cost without coverage?

You can pay cash at the makers’ self-pay prices (read November 1, 2026). At LillyDirect, Zepbound is $299 a month at 2.5 mg and $399 at 5 mg; from 7.5 mg it’s $449 with a refill within 45 days, or $499 to $699 if not. The Wegovy pen is $349 ($399 for Wegovy HD). The Wegovy pill is $149 to $299. Foundayo is $149 to $299 by dose; its 2.5 and 5.5 mg prices are reduced only through December 31, 2026, and 14.5 and 17.2 mg need a refill within 45 days. Cash purchases don’t count toward your Medicare deductible or out-of-pocket limit. Next year’s prices: Wegovy price in 2027.

Self-pay prices from LillyDirect and Novo Nordisk’s Wegovy site, read November 1, 2026: the medication alone, with your prescriber’s visit extra. A Zepbound month is 28 days.
MedicineCash price a monthWhat to know
Zepbound KwikPen or vialsLillyDirect, self-pay$299 to $449$299 at 2.5 mg, $399 at 5 mg, $449 from 7.5 mg with a refill within 45 days ($499 to $699 if not). Needles extra
Wegovy penNovoCare, self-pay$349$399 for Wegovy HD 7.2 mg. New patients: $199 for two fills at 0.25 or 0.5 mg, through December 31, 2026
Wegovy pillNovoCare, self-pay$149 to $299$149 at 1.5 mg, $199 at 4 mg, $299 at 9 or 25 mg
Foundayo pillLillyDirect, self-pay$149 to $299By dose. The 2.5 and 5.5 mg prices are temporarily reduced through December 31, 2026; 14.5 and 17.2 mg need a refill within 45 days
Through the Bridgeif you qualify$50Wegovy, Foundayo or the Zepbound KwikPen

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Self-pay prices from LillyDirect and Novo Nordisk’s Wegovy site, read November 1, 2026: the medication alone, with your prescriber’s visit extra. A Zepbound month is 28 days.

Medicare.gov itself points people who don’t qualify to TrumpRx.gov to compare cash prices. You can’t buy drugs there, and cash purchases don’t count toward your Medicare deductible or out-of-pocket limit. Lilly’s self-pay terms also say you can’t bill those purchases to any insurance, Medicare included. More on paying yourself: Zepbound’s cash price, dose by dose.

Every program

How do all 14 compounded tirzepatide programs compare?

Medicare doesn’t cover compounded tirzepatide, which isn’t FDA-approved, so these are self-pay prices: every program in our price index, all in, checked November 1, 2026.

Every compounded tirzepatide program in our GLP-1 price index: month to month and all in, the longest plan’s monthly price, and whether the price stays the same at every dose, from each program’s own site, checked November 1, 2026
ProgramMonth to month, all inLongest plan, per monthSame price at every dose?
PreventiveMD$139Prepaid 3 to 12 months, not in our indexYes
NexLife (publisher of this guide)$169$139 (12 months)Yes
Mochi Health$169 (at the lowest dose)$139 (lowest dose, 12-month membership)No, rises with dose
Ivím Health$192 (at the lowest price listed)Not publishedNot stated
Alloy$199 (at the lowest price listed)Monthly onlyNot stated
Ondra Health$219$142 (12 months, $1,699 upfront)Yes
Cora$225$135 (12 months, $1,620 upfront)Yes
Refills$249 (shown against a struck-through $349)$159 (12 months)Yes
Rx.com$285$149 (12 months, $1,788 upfront)Yes
Noom$299 (after a $149 first month)Billed $897 every 12 weeksNot stated
Raeliva$299$242 (6 months, $1,450 upfront)Yes
Shapely$348 (low to mid dose; $398 high dose)$265 (3-month starter package, with membership)No, rises with dose
Embody$349 (its regular price)Prepaid bundles, not in our indexYes
Remedy Meds$399 (every 4 weeks, after $279 at first)Month to month onlyYes

All in means the medication plus any required membership or program fee. Each price links to the program’s own page, read November 1, 2026. Every program and its notes: our GLP-1 price index.

NexLife and Medicare

Can NexLife help if you have Medicare?

Yes, if you pay yourself. People with Medicare can use NexLife at the price every member pays. Compounded tirzepatide is $139 a month on the 12-month plan, or $169 month to month, and semaglutide $119 or $139, at every dose. NexLife doesn’t bill Medicare, and Medicare doesn’t cover compounded medicines.

The Bridge may cost you less. NexLife’s providers prescribe compounded medicines only, not brand-name Zepbound or Wegovy, so we can’t write a Bridge prescription. If you qualify for the Bridge, its $50 a month costs less than paying cash, ours included. The Price Match Guarantee† isn’t open to people with Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE coverage.

HSA or FSA? NexLife provides a letter of medical necessity if your plan asks for one. Once you enroll in Medicare, you can’t add money to an HSA, but you can still spend what’s in it.

Questions first? Call or text (949) 818-8000. Real people answer 24/7, and physicians answer medical questions during clinical hours.

Check my eligibilityCompounded, not FDA-approved: a licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you.

After 2027

What happens to the Bridge after 2027?

It’s set to end on December 31, 2027, and nothing is announced for 2028, as of November 1, 2026. CMS already extended it once; it was first planned to end in 2026. On April 21, 2026, CMS said its BALANCE Model wouldn’t start in Medicare in 2027. What else changes on January 1, 2027: GLP-1 coverage in 2027.

  1. The Bridge is set to end. CMS extended it once already: it was first planned to run only through 2026.

  2. Nothing is announced. On April 21, 2026, CMS said its longer program for Part D plans, the BALANCE Model, wouldn’t start in Medicare in 2027. KFF found no clear path for coverage after 2027.

  3. Separate rules. In Medicaid, states that opt in can join BALANCE from May 2026 through January 1, 2027, CMS says. Thirteen state Medicaid programs covered GLP-1s for obesity as of January 2026.

Two medications.
One flat price at every dose.

No membership fee. Provider care, a nutrition plan, coaching and shipping are included.

Illustration of a compounded tirzepatide vialGIP + GLP-1

12-month plan $139/mo

Tirzepatide

Weekly and dual-action. Care, coaching and shipping included. On a 12-month plan; $169/mo month to month.

Check my eligibility

Compounded, not FDA-approved · Not prescribed? No charge for medication

Illustration of a compounded semaglutide vialGLP-1

12-month plan $119/mo

Semaglutide

Weekly GLP-1. Care, coaching and shipping included. On a 12-month plan; $139/mo month to month.

Check my eligibility

Compounded, not FDA-approved · Not prescribed? No charge for medication

Compounded, not FDA-approved. A licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you. Vials shown are illustrations. Always use the strength on your pharmacy’s label. Every plan and price · Price Match Guarantee† terms

Medicare and GLP-1s: your questions

Fair questions about NexLife

Will my price go up with my dose?
No. You pay the same at every dose.
What if I’m not prescribed?
You aren’t charged for medication.
Can I cancel?
Yes, by email. It takes effect 30 days after we receive it. Plans renew until you cancel; our cancellation policy has the details.
Do I need insurance?
No. Pay with an HSA or FSA card, or with Affirm, Klarna or Afterpay at checkout.

Does Medicare cover compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide?

No. The Bridge covers only Wegovy, Foundayo and the Zepbound KwikPen. Outside it, the law bars Medicare drug plans from covering drugs used for weight loss. NexLife doesn’t bill Medicare, but people with Medicare can use NexLife and pay the monthly price themselves.

What are the best weight loss drugs covered by Medicare?

For weight loss alone, Medicare covers three, and only through its GLP-1 Bridge. They are Wegovy (pen or pill), Foundayo and the Zepbound KwikPen, for $50 a month through December 31, 2027 if you qualify. Which fits you is your prescriber’s call. With type 2 diabetes or sleep apnea, your Part D plan may cover a GLP-1 instead.

Does Medicare cover Zepbound for weight loss in 2026?

Yes, but only the Zepbound KwikPen, through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, from July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027. If you have Part D and qualify, it costs $50 a month with prior authorization. Zepbound vials and single-dose pens aren’t covered, and you buy the KwikPen’s pen needles separately.

What is the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge?

A short-term CMS program that covers Wegovy, Foundayo and the Zepbound KwikPen for weight loss, for a $50 copay, from July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027. It’s for people with Medicare drug coverage (Part D) who meet its criteria, and it runs outside their Part D plan.

Who qualifies for the $50 GLP-1 Bridge?

Adults with Part D whose BMI was 35 or more when they started a GLP-1. At 30 or more, you also need a listed heart, blood pressure or kidney condition; at 27 or more, prediabetes, a past heart attack or stroke, or symptomatic peripheral artery disease. Type 2 diabetes, moderate-to-severe sleep apnea or fatty liver disease rules you out.

What is the tirzepatide price for seniors?

Seniors with Part D who qualify pay $50 a month for the Zepbound KwikPen through the Bridge, until December 31, 2027. Otherwise, LillyDirect charges $299 to $449 a month (checked November 1, 2026); $449 needs a refill within 45 days, or it’s $499 to $699. Compounded tirzepatide at NexLife, not FDA-approved, is $139 a month on the 12-month plan.

Can I get tirzepatide if I’m over 65?

Age alone doesn’t rule it out: Zepbound’s label reports no overall differences in safety or effectiveness between people 65 and older and younger adults. With Part D, the Bridge can cover the Zepbound KwikPen if you qualify. You can also pay yourself at NexLife, where a licensed provider decides whether compounded tirzepatide is right for you.

Does the $50 count toward my Part D out-of-pocket limit?

No. The Bridge runs outside your Part D plan, so the $50 doesn’t count toward your deductible or the $2,100 out-of-pocket cap ($2,400 in 2027). Extra Help doesn’t lower it, and the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan can’t spread it out. There’s no deductible to meet first: you pay $50 from the first fill.

How long does Bridge approval take?

The decision comes within 72 hours of your prescriber’s request, CMS says. First, after the pharmacy sends your claim, it asks your prescriber for prior authorization, typically within 24 to 72 hours. The decision is mailed to you and sent to your prescriber. Once you’re approved, refills on the same drug need no new approval.

What happens to the Bridge after 2027?

It’s set to end on December 31, 2027, and nothing is announced for 2028, as of November 1, 2026. CMS already extended it once: it was first planned to end in 2026. On April 21, 2026, CMS said the BALANCE Model, its longer program for Part D plans, won’t start in Medicare in 2027.

Important safety information

Compounded tirzepatide and semaglutide are not FDA-approved, and the FDA hasn’t reviewed them for safety, effectiveness or quality. A provider prescribes them only when they offer a significant difference for you compared with an FDA-approved product. Both medicines may cause thyroid tumors, including cancer: don’t use either if you or a family member has had medullary thyroid carcinoma (MTC) or multiple endocrine neoplasia syndrome type 2 (MEN 2).

Read the full safety information

In studies with rodents, both medicines caused thyroid tumors; it isn’t known whether they cause them in people. Tell your provider if you notice a lump or swelling in your neck, hoarseness, trouble swallowing or shortness of breath. Serious side effects can include inflammation of the pancreas (pancreatitis), gallbladder problems, low blood sugar (especially with insulin or sulfonylureas), kidney problems from dehydration, severe stomach problems, serious allergic reactions, vision changes in people with type 2 diabetes, and a faster heart rate. Tell your care team before any surgery or procedure that uses anesthesia or deep sedation. Don’t combine either medicine with other GLP-1 medicines.

Tirzepatide can make birth control pills less effective: switch to a non-oral method, or add a barrier method such as condoms, for 4 weeks after you start and for 4 weeks after each dose increase. Both medicines may harm an unborn baby. Semaglutide should be stopped at least 2 months before a planned pregnancy. Tell your provider right away if you’re pregnant, planning to be, or breastfeeding.

This is a summary, not the complete safety information. Read the full Prescribing Information for FDA-approved tirzepatide (Zepbound) and semaglutide (Wegovy), and talk with your provider. You can report side effects to the FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or fda.gov/medwatch.

† NexLife Price Match Guarantee: for new NexLife members switching from a licensed U.S. telehealth provider or clinic with an active prescription for compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide. We match your regular all-in monthly price there (medication plus any required membership, program or visit fee, on a month-to-month plan); first-month offers, coupons, referral credits and prepaid multi-month rates aren’t matched. Proof from the last 60 days required. A licensed provider must determine that treatment is right for you. Not open to people with Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE coverage. Full terms.

About NexLife. NexLife is a telehealth and care-coordination platform. Care is delivered through affiliated, physician-owned medical groups, and licensed providers decide whether treatment is right for you. NexLife doesn’t make or compound medication: state-licensed partner pharmacies fill each prescription, and we coordinate the rest. Available only in states where our affiliated providers are licensed.

Who wrote and checked this page

Adam Kennah, MDMedical Director, NexLife · Board-certified in emergency medicine (American Board of Emergency Medicine) · NPI 1144260043

Leads the NexLife Medical Team, which writes and medically reviews NexLife’s guides, including this one.

NexLife Medical TeamWrites and updates NexLife’s guides

Medicare’s and CMS’s rules and the makers’ prices checked November 1, 2026.

  • How we checked. The Bridge’s rules come from Medicare.gov, Medicare’s fact sheet and CMS’s pages for patients and prescribers, read November 1, 2026. The BALANCE Model’s status comes from CMS, read the same day; out-of-pocket caps and the eligibility estimate come from KFF. Cash prices are each maker’s own self-pay prices, read November 1, 2026.
  • Every fact, sourced. Each price and rule links to the page it comes from.
  • How we make money. NexLife is a telehealth and care-coordination platform. We earn revenue when people join NexLife.
  • Corrections, fast. See something wrong or out of date? Email care@nexlife.us and we’ll fix it.

With Medicare, you can still pay yourself.

A real prescription. A fair price.

Start online in about 3 minutes. A licensed provider decides if treatment is right for you.

4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot · Medical director Adam Kennah, MD (NPI 1144260043) · LegitScript-certified

Compounded medications aren’t FDA-approved. A provider prescribes one only when it offers a significant difference for you.

Sources

  1. Medicare.gov: Weight loss drugs (the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge). Read November 1, 2026.
  2. Medicare.gov: Medicare GLP-1 Bridge: GLP-1 drugs for $50 a month, fact sheet (CMS Product No. 12234, June 2026). Read November 1, 2026.
  3. CMS: Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, overview and FAQs. Read November 1, 2026.
  4. CMS: Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, information for providers. Read November 1, 2026.
  5. CMS: Medicare GLP-1 Bridge prior authorization request form. Read November 1, 2026.
  6. CMS: BALANCE Model (page modified September 29, 2026). Read November 1, 2026.
  7. KFF: What to know about the BALANCE Model for GLP-1s in Medicare and Medicaid and the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge (updated May 11, 2026).
  8. KFF: Nearly four million Medicare beneficiaries met the eligibility criteria in 2023 for the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge (June 29, 2026).
  9. Eli Lilly: Zepbound through LillyDirect, self-pay prices. Read November 1, 2026.
  10. Eli Lilly: Foundayo through LillyDirect, self-pay prices. Read November 1, 2026.
  11. Novo Nordisk: Wegovy cost and coverage. Read November 1, 2026.
  12. Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information, Eli Lilly, revised August 2026. Read November 1, 2026.
  13. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA Approves First New Molecular Entity Under National Priority Voucher Program. Read November 2, 2026.
  14. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Medicare GLP-1 Bridge. Information for Pharmacies. Read November 2, 2026.
  15. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Medicare GLP-1 Bridge. Information for Part D Plans. Read November 2, 2026.
  16. Medicare.gov. Help with drug costs. Read November 2, 2026.
  17. Medicare.gov. Joining a plan. Read November 2, 2026.