Home / Guides / Lost
Lost coverage. Six options, priced.
Zepbound not covered by insurance? Here’s what to do next
By the NexLife Medical Team · Medically reviewed by Adam Kennah, MD · Updated
You can appeal, switch to a covered
$139/mo on 12 months, every dosePrice Match Guarantee†
- Zepbound at LillyDirect: $299 to $449 a month, by dose ($449 needs a refill within 45 days; otherwise $499 to $699)
- Wegovy pen: $349 a month after two $199 starter fills
- Medicare Part D: $50 a month, if you qualify

$139/mo on a 12-month plan, all-inclusive, same price at every dose
Or $169/mo month to month
On Zepbound now? A licensed provider reviews your current dose
About 3 minutes of health questions · No insurance needed · Not prescribed? No charge for medication
See all 4 plans and what a year costs
| Plan | Per month | 12 months at this rate |
|---|---|---|
| 12-month Lowest monthly price | $139 | $1,668 |
| 6-month | $149 | $1,788 |
| 3-month | $159 | $1,908 |
| Month to month | $169 | $2,028 |
Month to month costs $360 more over 12 months than the 12-month plan. Plans renew until you cancel. Longer plans bill the way you choose at checkout.
Price Match Guarantee†. Paying less elsewhere? We match your regular monthly price. How it works
4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot, 407 reviewsLegitScript-certified
Compounded, not FDA-approved. A licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you. The vial shown is an illustration. Always use the strength on your pharmacy’s label.
- Licensed U.S. providers
- LegitScript certified
- Free expedited shipping
- HSA, FSA, Affirm, Klarna, Afterpay
- 24/7 support, real people
- Filled by Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL) or Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA)
Compounded tirzepatide isn’t FDA-approved and isn’t a generic Zepbound. A licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you.
What are your options?
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Can you appeal? | Yes, for $0. Get the denial in writing and file within 180 days |
| Is another | Ask your plan. Switching to one it covers, such as Wegovy, costs your copay |
| What does Zepbound cost? | $299 to $449 a month at LillyDirect, by dose; $449 needs a refill within 45 days, or it’s $499 to $699 |
| What does Wegovy cost? | Pen $349 a month after two $199 starter fills ($399 at 7.2 mg); pill $149 to $299 |
| On Medicare Part D? | $50 a month on the |
| What about compounded? | Not FDA-approved. Tirzepatide is $139 to $399 a month online in our price index; at NexLife, $139 on the 12-month plan |
Prices checked November 1, 2026, from LillyDirect, Novo Nordisk and our
- Tell us about you About 3 minutes of health questions
- A licensed provider decides You’re prescribed only if it’s right for you
- Your partner pharmacy ships Usually within 1 to 2 business days, free
Key takeaways
- Zepbound not covered? Appeal, switch to a covered
GLP-1, or pay LillyDirect’s $299 a month at 2.5 mg (checked November 1, 2026). - Zepbound’s higher doses: $399 at 5 mg; $449 from 7.5 mg with a refill within 45 days, or $499 to $699.
- An appeal costs nothing. Get the denial in writing, file within 180 days, and add a letter from your prescriber.
- Wegovy pens are $349 a month after two $199 starter fills, or $399 at 7.2 mg, at self-pay prices.
- On Medicare Part D? The
GLP-1 Bridge can cut Wegovy, Foundayo or the Zepbound KwikPen to $50 a month, if you qualify. - At NexLife, compounded tirzepatide, not FDA-approved, is $139 a month on the 12-month plan or $169 month to month.
Your options
What can you do when your plan drops Zepbound or Wegovy?
There are six real routes. Here’s what each one costs and what you need to start, from the free first step to the ones you pay for yourself.
| Option | What it costs | What you need |
|---|---|---|
| Appeal the decisionoften the first step | $0 to file | The denial in writing, your plan’s appeal form and a letter from your prescriber |
| Switch to a | Your plan’s copay | A new prescription, often with prior authorization |
| Zepbound at LillyDirectself-pay, KwikPen or vials | $299 to $449 a month, by dose | A prescription sent to LillyDirect; refill within 45 days to keep $449 at 7.5 mg and up |
| Wegovy through NovoCareself-pay, pen or pill | Pen $349 a month ($399 at 7.2 mg); pill $149 to $299 | A prescription filled by NovoCare Pharmacy |
| Medicare | $50 a month | BMI and health criteria, plus prior authorization from your prescriber |
| Compounded tirzepatide or semaglutideonline; not FDA-approved | Tirzepatide $139 to $399 a month in our price index (median $237); semaglutide $119 to $299 (median $199) | An online health review; a licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you |
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
Self-pay prices from LillyDirect and Novo Nordisk, read November 1, 2026: the medication alone, with your prescriber’s visit extra. Compounded prices are all in, month to month, across the programs in our
What about TrumpRx? TrumpRx.gov lists these same cash prices, but you can’t buy there. For Zepbound vials it sends you to LillyDirect, Lilly’s own pharmacy service. New NovoCare patients pay $199 for their first two Wegovy fills at 0.25 or 0.5 mg, through December 31, 2026.
Every way to pay without coverage, compared:
What changed
Why are plans dropping Zepbound and Wegovy?
Mostly cost. PepsiCo told its employees that weight-loss drugs had become one of the fastest-growing costs in its plans, and it isn’t the only employer pulling back.
- 17 millionmore people lack Zepbound coverage than in 2025 (over 114 million in all), and 27 million lack Wegovy coverageGoodRx coverage tracker, reviewed October 7, 2026
- 88%of people who still have coverage face a limit, such as prior authorizationGoodRx, via NPR
- 6%of large employers dropped coverage in 2026; 5% more plan to, or are weighing it, for 2027Mercer survey, via Vox
- Formulary swaps. In July 2025, CVS Caremark dropped Zepbound and kept Wegovy as its preferred obesity drug. Lilly now says Zepbound coverage is back on select CVS Caremark formularies.
- Employers opting out. Cigna ended weight-loss
GLP-1 coverage for its own employees on July 1, 2026, and PepsiCo ended it in October 2026, as announced. Both still cover these drugs for diabetes. - Tighter rules. Plans that still cover them often require prior authorization, or a BMI of 40, well above the BMI of 30 that defines obesity.
Appeal
Should you appeal, and what if your renewal was denied?
Appeal when the denial is about your medical need or your plan’s criteria. It costs nothing, and federal rules give your plan deadlines.
Get the reason in writing
Your plan must tell you in writing why it said no. For a prior authorization request, that’s within 15 days.
File within 180 days
Use your plan’s appeal form, or write with your name, claim number and member ID. Send copies, and keep the originals.
Ask your prescriber for a letter
It can cover your starting BMI, weight history and weight-related conditions, what you’ve tried before and how you’re doing now. Zepbound’s FDA label covers keeping weight off long term, not just losing it.
Expect an answer in 30 days
For care you haven’t had yet, the plan must decide within 30 days. If it still says no, you have 4 months to ask for an external review, decided within 45 days, or 72 hours if it’s urgent.
When an appeal won’t help. If your employer took weight-loss drugs out of the plan, there’s no medical decision to overturn: external review is for denials that involve medical judgment. Go to HR instead. Novo Nordisk offers a sample letter your prescriber can send to ask your employer to add Wegovy coverage.
“My renewal was denied because I lost weight”
Prior authorizations don’t last forever. If a renewal checks only today’s BMI against rules written for starting treatment, a medicine that worked can look like a reason to stop. Ask your prescriber to send your BMI from when you started, your weight history and your current dose. Then ask the plan which criteria it used.
Two facts help your case. Zepbound is approved to help keep weight off long term, not only to lose it. And Medicare’s own Bridge program judges BMI at the time you start
Brand-name, self-pay
What do Zepbound and Wegovy cost once coverage ends?
Both makers sell directly at self-pay prices. Zepbound’s price rises with your dose and depends on refilling on time; Wegovy’s pen is one price from 0.25 to 2.4 mg.
| Medicine and dose | Self-pay, per month | Good to know |
|---|---|---|
| Zepbound 2.5 mgKwikPen or vials | $299 | A starting dose, not a maintenance dose |
| Zepbound 5 mg | $399 | The same price for the KwikPen and vials |
| Zepbound 7.5 to 15 mg | $449 | If you refill within 45 days; otherwise $499 at 7.5 mg and $699 at 10 to 15 mg |
| Wegovy pen, 0.25 to 2.4 mg | $349 | New NovoCare patients: $199 for two fills at 0.25 or 0.5 mg, through December 31, 2026 |
| Wegovy HD pen, 7.2 mg | $399 | The highest Wegovy dose |
| Wegovy pill1.5 to 25 mg | $149 to $299 | $149 at 1.5 mg, $199 at 4 mg, $299 at 9 and 25 mg |
| Foundayo pillLilly’s daily | $149 to $299 | The 2.5 and 5.5 mg prices are reduced through December 31, 2026 |
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
Self-pay prices from LillyDirect and Novo Nordisk’s Wegovy site, read November 1, 2026. The medication alone: your prescriber’s visit is extra. A Zepbound month is 28 days, one KwikPen or four vials, and needles are sold separately.
Switching to the GLP-1 your plan still covers
If your plan dropped one brand but kept another, a switch can cost a copay instead of hundreds of dollars. Tirzepatide and semaglutide are different medicines, so it’s a new prescription. There’s no official dose conversion between them: your prescriber picks where you start.
On Medicare Part D? Through the
Compounded
Compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide: what’s different?
It’s the lower-cost route many people look at next. It isn’t FDA-approved, it isn’t a generic Zepbound or Wegovy, and insurance usually doesn’t cover it.
What it is
- Prepared by a state-licensed pharmacy for one person, on a prescription
- Prescribed only when a licensed provider decides it offers a significant difference for you
- Usually a vial and syringe, so your dose is set in milligrams and drawn up in units
- Priced by the month: $139 to $399 for tirzepatide online, median $237 across 14 programs
What it isn’t
- FDA-approved: the FDA doesn’t check its safety, effectiveness or quality before it’s sold
- A generic Zepbound or Wegovy
- The medicine studied in the trials behind Zepbound and Wegovy
- Covered by Medicare’s
GLP-1 Bridge, and most insurance plans don’t cover it either
“Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved. This means that FDA does not verify the safety, effectiveness or quality of compounded drugs before they are marketed.”
Paying with pre-tax money? HSA and FSA funds can often pay for it when it’s prescribed to treat a diagnosed condition such as obesity. See HSA and FSA for tirzepatide.
Every program
How do all 14 tirzepatide programs compare?
If you’re weighing compounded tirzepatide, which isn’t FDA-approved, here’s every program in our price index, all in, checked November 1, 2026.
| Program | Month to month, all in | Longest plan, per month | Same price at every dose? |
|---|---|---|---|
| PreventiveMD | $139 | Prepaid 3 to 12 months, not in our index | Yes |
| NexLife (publisher of this guide) | $169 | $139 (12 months) | Yes |
| Mochi Health | $169 (at the lowest dose) | $139 (lowest dose, 12-month membership) | No, rises with dose |
| Ivím Health | $192 (at the lowest price listed) | Not published | Not stated |
| Alloy | $199 (at the lowest price listed) | Monthly only | Not stated |
| Ondra Health | $219 | $142 (12 months, $1,699 upfront) | Yes |
| Cora | $225 | $135 (12 months, $1,620 upfront) | Yes |
| Refills | $249 (shown against a struck-through $349) | $159 (12 months) | Yes |
| Rx.com | $285 | $149 (12 months, $1,788 upfront) | Yes |
| Noom | $299 (after a $149 first month) | Billed $897 every 12 weeks | Not stated |
| Raeliva | $299 | $242 (6 months, $1,450 upfront) | Yes |
| Shapely | $348 (low to mid dose; $398 high dose) | $265 (3-month starter package, with membership) | No, rises with dose |
| Embody | $349 (its regular price) | Prepaid bundles, not in our index | Yes |
| Remedy Meds | $399 (every 4 weeks, after $279 at first) | Month to month only | Yes |
All in means the medication plus any required membership or program fee. Each price links to the program’s own page, read November 1, 2026. Every program and its notes: our GLP-1 price index.
Your dose
Will you have to restart at 2.5 mg?
Not necessarily. A licensed provider reviews the dose you’re on now, when you last took it and how you’re doing, then decides where you start. After a longer break, they may start you lower, for your safety.
Your milligrams, in a vial
Zepbound is labeled in milligrams. A compounded vial is drawn up in units, and how many units make your dose depends on the vial’s strength. That’s why a new provider asks for your dose in mg.
| Your Zepbound dose | At 10 mg/mL | At 20 mg/mL | At 30 mg/mL |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2.5 mg | 25 units | 12.5 units | 8.3 units |
| 5 mg | 50 units | 25 units | 16.7 units |
| 7.5 mg | 75 units | 37.5 units | 25 units |
| 10 mg | 100 units | 50 units | 33.3 units |
| 12.5 mg | Over 1 mL | 62.5 units | 41.7 units |
| 15 mg | Over 1 mL | 75 units | 50 units |
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
Units on a U-100 insulin syringe (100 units = 1 mL): units = dose in mg ÷ vial strength in mg/mL × 100, the same math as our tirzepatide dosage chart. Your prescription and your vial’s label set your dose. If they don’t match this, call or text us before you inject.
Don’t leave a gap
Start your new assessment, and keep taking your current prescription until your new provider confirms your next step. Never take two
GLP-1 medicines together.A Zepbound KwikPen holds four weekly doses, so your last pen lasts 4 weeks. Write down the date of each dose.
Zepbound’s label says: if it’s been 4 days or less, take the missed dose. If it’s been longer, skip it and take the next one on your usual day. Stopped for weeks? See restarting tirzepatide after a break.
Your new provider sets it after reviewing your history. Tell them your current dose and when you last took it.
At NexLife
What do you get at NexLife, and does it take insurance?
NexLife is self-pay, so there’s no coverage to lose: one flat monthly price at every dose, with your care included.
One flat price
$139 a month on the 12-month plan, or $169 month to month, at every dose. No membership fee.
A licensed provider
Reviews your health history and the dose you’re on now, and prescribes only if it’s right for you.
Nutrition and coaching
A personalized nutrition plan and a 1:1 coaching call.
Free expedited shipping
Once you’re prescribed, your partner pharmacy usually ships within 1 to 2 business days.
HSA, FSA or pay later
HSA and FSA cards work, and so do Affirm, Klarna and Afterpay at checkout.
Real people, 24/7
Call or text
(949) 818-8000 with your current dose. We handle the pharmacy for you.
Not prescribed? You aren’t charged for medication.
About the Price Match Guarantee†. It’s for people switching from another licensed telehealth provider or clinic, with a receipt from the last 60 days. It doesn’t apply to an insurance copay.
Every plan and price: NexLife pricing.
Two medications.
One flat price at every dose.
No membership fee. Provider care, a nutrition plan, coaching and shipping are included. Paying less with another licensed provider? We match your regular monthly price.†
GIP + 12-month plan $139/mo
Tirzepatide
Weekly and dual-action. Care, coaching and shipping included. On a 12-month plan; $169/mo month to month.
Check my eligibilityCompounded, not FDA-approved · Not prescribed? No charge for medication

12-month plan $119/mo
Semaglutide
Weekly
Compounded, not FDA-approved · Not prescribed? No charge for medication
Compounded, not FDA-approved. A licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you. Vials shown are illustrations. Always use the strength on your pharmacy’s label. Every plan and price · Price Match Guarantee† terms
The NexLife Price Match Guarantee†
Keep your price.
Upgrade your care.
Already on compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide? Pay less with another licensed U.S. telehealth provider or clinic, and we match your regular monthly price for as long as your plan stays active.† Plus a provider who follows your dose, a nutrition plan, a coaching call and real people 24/7.
- 1Send a receipt from the last 60 days
- 2A NexLife provider reviews your prescription
- 3Pay your matched price, at every dose
Locked while your plan is activeSame price at every doseNo membership fee
†Terms: see the Price Match Guarantee† details below. Compounded medications aren’t FDA-approved; a provider prescribes one only when it offers a significant difference for you.
Lost GLP-1 coverage: your questions
Fair questions about NexLife
- Will my price go up with my dose?
- No. You pay the same at every dose.
- What if I’m not prescribed?
- You aren’t charged for medication.
- Can I cancel?
- Yes, by email. It takes effect 30 days after we receive it. Plans renew until you cancel; our cancellation policy has the details.
- Do I need insurance?
- No. Pay with an HSA or FSA card, or with Affirm, Klarna or Afterpay at checkout.
What do I do if my insurance stops covering Zepbound?
Appeal if the denial is about medical need, ask if your plan covers another
Can I appeal a Zepbound coverage denial?
Yes. Get the denial in writing, then file an internal appeal within 180 days with a letter from your prescriber. For care you haven’t had yet, the plan must decide within 30 days. If it still says no, you can ask for an external review within 4 months.
Why was my Zepbound renewal denied after I lost weight?
A renewal may check your BMI today against rules written for starting treatment, so success can look like a reason to stop. Ask your prescriber to send your starting BMI, weight history and current dose, and ask the plan which criteria it used. Zepbound’s FDA label covers keeping weight off long term, not just losing it.
How much is Zepbound without insurance now?
$299 at 2.5 mg, $399 at 5 mg and $449 from 7.5 mg to 15 mg a month at LillyDirect, if you refill within 45 days. If you don’t, it’s $499 to $699 (checked November 1, 2026). That’s the medication alone, and the KwikPen and vials cost the same.
What if my plan dropped Wegovy too?
You can pay for Wegovy yourself or look at compounded semaglutide. Wegovy pens are $349 a month after two $199 starter fills ($399 at 7.2 mg); the pill is $149 to $299 (checked November 1, 2026). Compounded semaglutide isn’t FDA-approved; at NexLife it’s $119 a month on the 12-month plan or $139 month to month.
Can I switch from Zepbound to compounded tirzepatide?
Often, after a licensed provider’s review. It’s a different product. Compounded tirzepatide isn’t FDA-approved or a generic Zepbound, and a provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you. Your provider reviews your current dose and decides where you start.
Will I have to restart at 2.5 mg?
Not necessarily. A licensed provider reviews the dose you’re on now, when you last took it and how you’re doing, then decides where you start. After a longer break, they may start you lower, for your safety. Give your dose in milligrams, not units.
Is compounded tirzepatide the same as Zepbound?
No. Zepbound is FDA-approved and made by Eli Lilly. Compounded tirzepatide is prepared by a state-licensed pharmacy for one patient’s prescription, isn’t FDA-approved and wasn’t studied in Zepbound’s trials. A licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you.
Does NexLife take insurance?
No. NexLife is self-pay: compounded tirzepatide is $139 a month on the 12-month plan or $169 month to month, at every dose. HSA and FSA cards, Affirm, Klarna and Afterpay work at checkout, and if you’re not prescribed, you aren’t charged for medication.
Important safety information
Compounded tirzepatide and semaglutide are not FDA-approved, and the FDA hasn’t reviewed them for safety, effectiveness or quality. A provider prescribes them only when they offer a significant difference for you compared with an FDA-approved product. Both medicines may cause thyroid tumors, including cancer: don’t use either if you or a family member has had medullary thyroid carcinoma (MTC) or multiple endocrine neoplasia syndrome type 2 (MEN 2).
Read the full safety information
In studies with rodents, both medicines caused thyroid tumors; it isn’t known whether they cause them in people. Tell your provider if you notice a lump or swelling in your neck, hoarseness, trouble swallowing or shortness of breath. Serious side effects can include inflammation of the pancreas (pancreatitis), gallbladder problems, low blood sugar (especially with insulin or sulfonylureas), kidney problems from dehydration, severe stomach problems, serious allergic reactions, vision changes in people with type 2 diabetes, and a faster heart rate. Tell your care team before any surgery or procedure that uses anesthesia or deep sedation. Don’t combine either medicine with other
Tirzepatide can make birth control pills less effective: switch to a non-oral method, or add a barrier method such as condoms, for 4 weeks after you start and for 4 weeks after each dose increase. Both medicines may harm an unborn baby. Semaglutide should be stopped at least 2 months before a planned pregnancy. Tell your provider right away if you’re pregnant, planning to be, or breastfeeding.
This is a summary, not the complete safety information. Read the full Prescribing Information for FDA-approved tirzepatide (Zepbound) and semaglutide (Wegovy), and talk with your provider. You can report side effects to the FDA at
† NexLife Price Match Guarantee: for new NexLife members switching from a licensed U.S. telehealth provider or clinic with an active prescription for compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide. We match your regular all-in monthly price there (medication plus any required membership, program or visit fee, on a month-to-month plan); first-month offers, coupons, referral credits and prepaid multi-month rates aren’t matched. Proof from the last 60 days required. A licensed provider must determine that treatment is right for you. Not open to people with Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE coverage. Full terms.
About NexLife. NexLife is a telehealth and care-coordination platform. Care is delivered through affiliated, physician-owned medical groups, and licensed providers decide whether treatment is right for you. NexLife doesn’t make or compound medication: state-licensed partner pharmacies fill each prescription, and we coordinate the rest. Available only in states where our affiliated providers are licensed.
Who wrote and checked this page
Leads the NexLife Medical Team, which writes and medically reviews NexLife’s guides, including this one.
Brand-name prices, appeal rules and Medicare’s rules checked November 1, 2026.
- How we checked. Brand-name prices are each maker’s own self-pay prices, read on LillyDirect and Novo Nordisk’s Wegovy site on November 1, 2026. Coverage figures come from GoodRx’s analysis as NPR reported it (April 22, 2026), Mercer’s survey as Vox reported it (October 15, 2026) and NBC DFW (September 24, 2026). Appeal deadlines come from HealthCare.gov, and the Bridge rules from Medicare.gov and CMS, read November 1, 2026. Compounded prices come from our
GLP-1 price index. Dosing facts come from the Zepbound prescribing information. - Every fact, sourced. Each price and rule links to the page it comes from.
- How we make money. NexLife is a telehealth and care-coordination platform. We earn revenue when people join NexLife.
- Corrections, fast. See something wrong or out of date? Email care@nexlife.us and we’ll fix it.
Paying less elsewhere? We match it.†
You know your options. Here’s the next step.
If compounded tirzepatide fits, a 3-minute assessment starts it, and a licensed provider decides if it’s right for you. It’s $139 a month on the 12-month plan, or $169 month to month, at every dose.
4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot · Medical director Adam Kennah, MD (NPI 1144260043) · LegitScript-certified
Compounded medications aren’t FDA-approved. A provider prescribes one only when it offers a significant difference for you.
- 1Tell us about you
Start online with your health history.
- 2A licensed provider decides
Online, or by secure video where your state requires a live visit. You’re prescribed only if treatment is right for you.
- 3We ship it, then stay with you
Our partner pharmacy usually ships within 1 to 2 business days. Free shipping, and questions come to us 24/7, never to the pharmacy.
Sources
- NPR: Restrictions on obesity drug coverage force patients to pivot (April 22, 2026).
- Vox: Why your health insurance is dropping
GLP-1 coverage (October 15, 2026). - NBC DFW: The price of
GLP-1 drugs is changing (September 24, 2026). - Eli Lilly: Zepbound through LillyDirect, self-pay prices. Read November 1, 2026.
- Eli Lilly: Zepbound coverage and savings. Read November 1, 2026.
- Eli Lilly: Foundayo through LillyDirect, self-pay prices. Read November 1, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk: What to pay for Wegovy. Read November 1, 2026.
- TrumpRx.gov: Zepbound vial. Read November 1, 2026.
- HealthCare.gov: Internal appeals. Read November 1, 2026.
- HealthCare.gov: External review. Read November 1, 2026.
- Medicare.gov: Weight loss drugs (the Medicare
GLP-1 Bridge). Read November 1, 2026. - Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information, Eli Lilly, revised August 2026. Read November 1, 2026.
- FDA: Compounding and the FDA, questions and answers.
- NexLife:
GLP-1 price index. Tirzepatide checked November 1, 2026; semaglutide November 1, 2026. - NexLife: compounded tirzepatide plans.